Step into the world of suspense and mystery as we unveil the timeless genius of Agatha Christie, the undisputed queen of crime novels. From the moment you turn the first page of her captivating stories, you are transported to a realm of intrigue, deception, and nail-biting suspense.

Christie's writing prowess has stood the test of time, and with over 2 billion copies of her books sold worldwide, her impact on the literary world is unparalleled.

But what is it about her novels that continue to enthrall audiences? Her meticulous attention to detail, her ability to craft multi-dimensional characters, and her skill in constructing convoluted plots have kept readers guessing until the last page.

Mini Biography

Agatha Christie was born Agatha Mary Clarissa Miller on September 15, 1890, in Torquay, Devon, England. 

She was home-schooled by her mother, Clara, who encouraged her to write and showed an early interest in literature and writing, penning her first poem at age 10.

Beginning of Writing Career

During World War I, Agatha worked as a nurse and later in a pharmacy, which provided her with knowledge of poisons—an element that would feature prominently in her mysteries.

She began writing detective fiction during this period, largely to challenge herself.

Her debut novel, The Mysterious Affair at Styles, introducing Hercule Poirot, was published in 1920 after several rejections.

Marriages and Family

In 1914, Agatha married Archibald Christie, an aviator in the Royal Flying Corps. They had one daughter, Rosalind Hicks, born in 1919. The couple divorced in 1928.

In 1930, Agatha married archaeologist Sir Max Mallowan. Their marriage was a happy and enduring one, and Agatha often accompanied Max on his archaeological expeditions in the Middle East, which inspired several of her novels.

Literary Achievements

Agatha Christie wrote 66 detective novels and 14 short story collections.

She wrote 16 plays, including The Mousetrap, which holds the record for the longest-running play in the world.

Her most famous characters are Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple, who appear in many of her novels and stories.

Christie's books have sold over two billion copies, making her one of the best-selling authors in history, second only to William Shakespeare and the Bible.


On January 12, 1976, Agatha Christie died peacefully at her home in Winterbrook, Oxfordshire.

She left behind a legacy as the "Queen of Mystery," with her works continuing to captivate readers worldwide.

Influence of Agatha Christie on Crime Fiction 

Agatha Christie's impact on the crime fiction genre cannot be overstated. Her innovative storytelling techniques and compelling characters have influenced countless authors and have shaped the genre as we know it today.

One of the ways in which Christie revolutionised the crime fiction genre was through her use of the "whodunit" narrative structure. Prior to Christie, crime novels often focused on the detective's investigation, with the identity of the culprit revealed early on.

Christie, however, turned this convention on its head by placing a greater emphasis on suspense and mystery. Her novels were a puzzle to be solved, with readers eagerly trying to uncover the identity of the killer alongside the detective.

Furthermore, Christie's meticulous attention to detail and her ability to create intricate plots have become hallmarks of the crime fiction genre.

Her novels are a masterclass in suspense, with each clue and revelation carefully crafted to keep readers guessing until the very end.

Authors today continue to draw inspiration from Christie's storytelling techniques, striving to create the same level of intrigue and suspense in their own work.

Additionally, Christie's portrayal of female characters was groundbreaking for its time. Her female detectives, such as Miss Marple and Tuppence Beresford, were strong, independent, and capable, challenging traditional gender roles and expectations.

Christie's portrayal of women as intelligent and capable investigators paved the way for future female crime fiction writers and empowered generations of readers.


Click '+' to view the full list of books

  • The Mysterious Affair at Styles (1920)
  • The Murder on the Links (1923)
  • Poirot Investigates (1924)
  • The Murder of Roger Ackroyd (1926)
  • The Big Four (1927)
  • The Mystery of the Blue Train (1928)
  • Peril at End House (1932)
  • Lord Edgware Dies (1933)
  • Murder on the Orient Express (1934)
  • Three Act Tragedy (1935)
  • Death in the Clouds (1935)
  • The A.B.C. Murders (1936)
  • Murder in Mesopotamia (1936)
  • Cards on the Table (1936)
  • Dumb Witness (1937)
  • Death on the Nile (1937)
  • Appointment with Death (1938)
  • Hercule Poirot’s Christmas (1938)
  • Sad Cypress (1940)
  • One, Two, Buckle My Shoe (1940)
  • Evil Under the Sun (1941)
  • Five Little Pigs (1942)
  • The Hollow (1946)
  • Taken at the Flood (1948)
  • Mrs. McGinty’s Dead (1952)
  • After the Funeral (1953)
  • Hickory Dickory Dock (1955)
  • Dead Man’s Folly (1956)
  • Cat Among the Pigeons (1959)
  • The Clocks (1963)
  • Third Girl (1966)
  • Hallowe’en Party (1969)
  • Elephants Can Remember (1972)
  • Curtain: Poirot’s Last Case (1975)
  • The Adventure of the Christmas Pudding (1960) (Short stories collection)
  • Poirot’s Early Cases (1974) (Short stories collection)
  • The Murder at the Vicarage (1930)
  • The Thirteen Problems (1932) (Short stories collection, also known as “The Tuesday Club Murders”)
  • The Body in the Library (1942)
  • The Moving Finger (1942)
  • A Murder is Announced (1950)
  • They Do It with Mirrors (1952) (also published as “Murder with Mirrors”)
  • A Pocket Full of Rye (1953)
  • 4.50 from Paddington (1957) (also published as “What Mrs. McGillicuddy Saw!”)
  • The Mirror Crack’d from Side to Side (1962) (also published as “The Mirror Crack’d”)
  • A Caribbean Mystery (1964)
  • At Bertram’s Hotel (1965)
  • Nemesis (1971)
  • Sleeping Murder (1976) (written in the early 1940s but published posthumously)
  • Miss Marple’s Final Cases and Two Other Stories (1979) (Short stories collection)
  • The Man in the Brown Suit (1924)
  • The Secret of Chimneys (1925)
  • The Seven Dials Mystery (1929)
  • The Sittaford Mystery (1931) (also published as “Murder at Hazelmoor”)
  • Why Didn’t They Ask Evans? (1934) (also published as “The Boomerang Clue”)
  • Parker Pyne Investigates (1934) (Short stories collection)
  • Murder is Easy (1939) (also published as “Easy to Kill”)
  • And Then There Were None (1939) (also published as “Ten Little Indians”)
  • N or M? (1941)
  • Towards Zero (1944)
  • Death Comes as the End (1944)
  • Sparkling Cyanide (1945) (also published as “Remembered Death”)
  • The Hollow (1946) (features Poirot but focuses on other characters)
  • The Rose and the Yew Tree (1948) (published under the pseudonym Mary Westmacott)
  • They Came to Baghdad (1951)
  • Destination Unknown (1954) (also published as “So Many Steps to Death”)
  • Ordeal by Innocence (1958)
  • The Pale Horse (1961)
  • Endless Night (1967)
  • Passenger to Frankfurt (1970)


Recommended Reading



More about the Author